August 2019,

Weekly Wrap 19 August

Silver Ferns to be hosted at Parliament

Read More

The Silver Ferns are bringing the Netball World Cup to Wellington to give the public a chance to celebrate the world champions.

Parliament will host the World Cup winners on Monday, August 26, with head coach Noeline Taurua flying back from her commitments with the Sunshine Coast Lightning to be with the team.

Maria Folau and Laura Langman will be the only Silver Ferns to miss the event as they are still on contract with the Adelaide Thunderbirds and the Lightning, respectively.

Netball NZ are hoping to secure Taurua’s services for the Silver Ferns on a long-term basis in the wake of their success at the Netball World Cup.

Minister for Sport and Recreation Grant Robertson said the reception at parliament will provide an opportunity for the public to celebrate the Silver Ferns’ victory and interact with the team.

“Like many New Zealanders, I was on the edge of my seat watching the final, which was one of the best sporting showdowns ever seen. I am delighted that we are able to bring the team together and provide the New Zealand public with an opportunity to show their pride and appreciation.”

The Netball World Cup will then be taken to secondary schools in Wellington, Nelson and North Harbour.

Silver Ferns and the Netball World Cup in Wellington
Monday 26 August
12.00pm to 1.00pm
Parliament Forecourt

Burling and Tuke take early lead at Olympic test event

Read More

Peter Burling and Blair Tuke had never raced at the Olympic venue before today but they looked right at home as they took an early lead at the Olympic test event in Enoshima today.

The four-time world and defending Olympic champions carded two wins and a third in their three races to establish themselves at the top of the 49er leaderboard after the first day.

Sam Meech also enjoyed a terrific day, finishing first and second in his two races to sit on top of the Laser fleet. Andy Maloney (fifth in the Finn) and Alex Maloney and Molly Meech (fifth in the 49erFX) are also well in the mix.

The Olympic test event is essentially a dress rehearsal for the real thing in 12 months’ time, being sailed with similar-sized fleets as what will be seen at the Games and at the same time of year. But it’s also quite often a good indicator of what will happen at the Olympics, with 13 sets of medallists at the test event going on to stand on the podium in Rio in 2016.

Rowing NZ Team Selections for World Championships

Read More

The 2019 Rowing NZ Elite team contesting the World Rowing Championships 25 August – 1 September in Linz, Austria has today been named. The team of 53 athletes and 17 support staff will arrive in Linz on 21 August for eight days of racing. New Zealand’s crew will be joining nearly 1200 athletes from 80 nations.

The main international competitions for the Rowing NZ High Performance programme are the Olympic Games (held every 4 years with the next Olympic Games held in Tokyo, 2020), the World Rowing Cup series, and the annual World Rowing Championships. The World Rowing Cup series comprises of three regattas held each year with overall winners being determined by points that are awarded to the top finishing boats at each event. New Zealand routinely attends World Rowing Cup II and III.

While FISA allows countries to send multiple crews to individual events at World Rowing Cup regattas, countries are limited to one entry per event for World Rowing Championships. This year’s regatta also acts as the qualification regatta for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.


2019 World Rowing Championships Team
Women’s Single Scull Men’s Single Scull
Emma Twigg (Hawkes Bay Rowing Club, Waikato RPC) Robbie Manson (Wairau Rowing Club, Central RPC)
Mike Rodger (coach) Mike Rodger (coach)
Women’s Coxless Pair
Kerri Gowler (Aramoho Whanganui Rowing Club, Central RPC) PR2 Men’s Single Scull
Grace Prendergast (Avon Rowing Club, Southern RPC) Gavin Foulsham (Hawkes Bay Rowing Club)
Gary Hay (coach) Ross Webb (coach)
Men’s Coxless Pair
Women’s Double Scull Michael Brake (North Shore Rowing Club, Auckland RPC)
Olivia Loe (Avon Rowing Club, Southern RPC) Tom Murray (Blenheim Rowing Club, Central RPC)
Brooke Donoghue (Waikato Rowing Club, Waikato RPC) Gary Roberts (coach)
James Coote (coach)
Women’s Lightweight Double Scull Men’s Double Scull
Jackie Kiddle (Star Boating Club, Central RPC) Chris Harris (Aramoho Whanganui Rowing Club, Central RPC)
Zoe McBride (Nelson Rowing Club, Central RPC) John Storey (Avon Rowing Club, Southern RPC)
James Coote (coach) Calvin Ferguson (coach)
Men’s Lightweight Double Scull
Women’s Four Harrison Somerville (Blenheim Rowing Club, Central RPC)
Phoebe Spoors (Canterbury Rowing Club, Southern RPC) Matt Dunham (Cambridge Rowing Club, Waikato RPC)
Eve Macfarlane (Canterbury Rowing Club, Southern RPC) Calvin Ferguson (coach)
Kelsi Walters (Counties-Manukau Rowing Club, Auckland RPC)
Davina Waddy (Canterbury Rowing Club, Southern RPC) Men’s Lightweight Single Scull
Marion Horwell (coach) Ben van Dalen (Cambridge Rowing Club, Waikato RPC)
Calvin Ferguson (coach)
Women’s Quad
Hannah Osborne (Te Awamutu Rowing Club, Waikato RPC) Men’s Four
Sam Voss (Cambridge Rowing Club, Waikato RPC) Thomas Russel (Avon Rowing Club, Southern RPC)
Ruby Tew (Star Boating Club, Central RPC) Tom Mackintosh (Avon Rowing Club, Southern RPC)
Kirstyn Goodger (Wairau Rowing Club, Central RPC) Ian Seymour (Wairau Rowing Club, Central RPC)
Gary Hay (coach) Ben Taylor (Avon Rowing Club, Southern RPC)
Gary Roberts (coach)
Women’s Eight
Jackie Gowler (Aramoho Whanganui Rowing Club, Central RPC) Men’s Quad
Beth Ross (Petone Rowing Club, Central RPC) Jordan Parry (Tauranga Rowing Club, Waikato RPC)
Kerri Gowler (Aramoho Whanganui Rowing Club, Central RPC) Cameron Crampton (Timaru Rowing Club, Southern RPC)
Grace Prendergast (Avon Rowing Club, Southern RPC) Lewis Hollows (West End Rowing Club, Auckland RPC)
Kelsey Bevan (Counties-Manukau Rowing Club, Auckland RPC) Nathan Flannery (Union Christchurch Rowing Club, Southern RPC)
Lucy Spoors (Canterbury Rowing Club, Southern RPC) Mark Stallard (coach)
Emma Dyke (Timaru Rowing Club, Southern RPC)
Ella Greenslade (Wairau Rowing Club, Central RPC) Men’s Eight
Caleb Shepherd (coxswain) (Waikato Rowing Club, Waikato RPC) Stephen Jones (West End Rowing Club, Auckland RPC)
Gary Hay (coach) Matt MacDonald (North Shore Rowing Club, Auckland RPC)
Phillip Wilson (Petone Rowing Club, Central RPC)
Team Managers Brook Robertson (Nelson Rowing Club, Central RPC)
Jan Taylor Mahe Drysdale (West End Rowing Club, Auckland RPC)
Sonya Walker Shaun Kirkham (Waikato Rowing Club, Waikato RPC)
Hamish Bond (North End Rowing Club)
James Lassche (Avon Rowing Club, Southern RPC)
Sam Bosworth (coxswain) (Avon Rowing Club, Southern RPC)
Tony O’Connor (coach)
Men’s Reserves
Isaac Grainger (Auckland Rowing Club, Auckland RPC)
Anthony Allen (Waikato Rowing Club, Waikato RPC)
Angus McFarlane (Blenheim Rowing Club, Central RPC)
Rowing NZ Appointments

Rowing NZ – Athlete Development Leader
Rowing NZ are pleased to announce the appointment of Annika Wing to Rowing NZ’s High Performance Athlete Development Leader position.
Originally from the UK, and holding dual citizenship (British and German), Annika is relocating from Germany and is looking forward to joining Rowing NZ on 20 August.

Auckland RPC – Assistant Coach
Rowing NZ are pleased to announce the appointment of Bryce Abernethy as Auckland RPC Assistant Coach.
A five-time national title winner, Bryce represented New Zealand in rowing from 2012-2016 across Trans-Tasman, U21, World University and U23 teams.
Bryce will join Auckland RPC on 30 September.