Te Hāpaitanga - The act of elevating, lifting and empowering

Te Hāpaitanga

Te Hāpaitanga is a holistic coach development initiative enabling more women to pursue and maintain careers in high performance coaching in New Zealand.

The 18-month initiative provides a range of opportunities for a number of future women high performance coaches to test and develop their coaching capability, and to develop new skills to navigate a complex and challenging career in high performance sport. 

Te Hāpaitanga 

  • CONNECTS emerging women coaches with their peers, and established women high performance coaches, to provide mentoring and inspiration. 
  • ACCELERATES the growth and development of emerging women coaches by mitigating challenges to a career in high performance coaching. 
  • INTEGRATES both an identified national sporting organisation (NSO) Sponsor and an experienced coach mentor into the coach’s development journey for access to resources, knowledge and experiences. 


Guidelines and Application Process (PDF 647kb)

Application Form (PDF 195kb)
Application Form (Word 51kb)

NSO Endorsement Form (PDF 199kb)
NSO Endorsement Form (Word 45.3kb)


Te Hāpaitanga case studies


  • Lucy Brown, Snow Sports, Queenstown 
  • Fiona Bourke, Rowing, Cambridge 
  • Danielle Cranston, Hockey, Auckland 
  • Elyse Fraser, Cycling, Christchurch 
  • Alana Gunn, Football, Christchurch 
  • Honey Hireme-Smiler, Rugby League, Hamilton 
  • Crystal Kaua, Rugby Sevens, Mount Maunganui 
  • Arna Masjstrovic, Surf Life Saving, Gisborne 
  • Terena Ranui, Football, Hamilton 
  • Tamara Reed, Triathlon, Palmerston North 
  • Julie Seymour, Netball, Christchurch 
  • Holly Sullivan, Boxing, Christchurch 
  • Heelan Tompkins, Equestrian, Rotorua 
  • Leanne Walker, Basketball, Hamilton 
  • Emily Willock, Canoe Racing, Gisborne 
  • Angela Winstanley-Smith, Water Polo, Christchurch


  • Jenny Armstrong – Yachting (Dunedin) 
  • Temepara Bailey – Netball (Auckland) 
  • Mel Bosman – Rugby Union (Nelson/Tasman) 
  • Lizzie Green – Equestrian (Hamilton) 
  • Jonelle Quane – Surf Life Saving (Christchurch) 
  • Whitney Hansen – Rugby Union (Christchurch) 
  • Gemma Lewis – Football (Auckland) 
  • Kim Mickle – Athletics (Christchurch) 
  • Palesa Semu – Netball (Wellington) 
  • Hannah Starnes – Rowing (Hamilton) 
  • Laura Thompson – Para-Cycling (Invercargill) 
  • Maia Vink – Football (Wellington) 


*Residency Funded Coaches, Natalie Lawrence (Football NZ) and Kari Carswell (NZ Cricket) are also part of the Te Hāpaitanga cohort. 

Te Hāpaitanga Practice Mentors 

Raylene Bates, Penny Pearce, Maria Hassan, Kirsten Hellier, Tony Readings, Richard Smith, Helene Wilson 

Te Hāpaitanga Satellite Group 

In response to the high level of interest and the quality applications received after launching Te Hāpaitanga, HPSNZ established the Te Hāpaitanga Satellite Group to provide coach development opportunities for additional women coaches.  

As with Te Hāpaitanga, the Satellite Group connects emerging and future high performance coaches from across sports into a community of practice. 

The Satellite Group coaches have access to a series of coach development online seminars and/or workshops. The online series provides a platform to share insights, exchange ideas, reflections, and solutions in a community of women coaches.  

The Satellite Group comprises 23 emerging women coaches representing 17 sports.