Click here for the latest update from HPSNZ on COVID-19
September 2019,

Weekly Wrap 23 September

Jack Bauer called in to NZ Road Team

Read More

Mitchelton Scott team professional Jack Bauer has been added to the Vantage New Zealand elite team for the UCI Road World Championships starting in Yorkshire, England.

Bauer will replace fellow World Tour rider Tom Scully (EF Education First) in the team for the road race on Sunday September 29.

The World Championships kick off on Monday for New Zealand, with the junior individual time trials seeing Ella Wyllie go for the women, while Logan Currie, Reuben Thompson and Finn Fisher-Black will all start for the men.

Kiwi Olympian Nick Willis turns down late invitation for world athletics championships.

Read More

The 36-year-old did not receive an original invitation in his 1500m event from the IAAF (International Association of Athletics Federations) based on their roll down system, which effectively fills the field with the next highest ranked athletes in the scenario where 45 runners do not automatically qualify.

Following a final review of entries, the IAAF issued an additional 130 invitations to eligible athletes, including Willis. He chose to not accept the invitation, a move that has been supported by Athletics New Zealand.

Zoe Hobbs (200m), Camille Buscomb (5000m), who were already with the New Zealand team having qualified for the event, both accepted their invitations.

Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards winners announced

Read More

It has been another very successful last 12 months for New Zealand’s sailors on the world stage and the winners of excellence awards will be recognised at a gala dinner at the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron on November 8.
The following categories will be recognised at the awards dinner on November 8:

  • Sailor of the Year Award for the Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy
  • Young Sailor of the Year Award
  • Coach of the Year
  • Official of the Year
  • Emerging Talent Award
  • President’s Award
  • Young Leadership Award (new)
  • Sportsmanship Award (new)
  • Sustainability Award (new)

Tickets to the dinner can be purchase here or for more information contact Monique de Sousa on